Monday, October 09, 2017

Blog Splash: Rhoda Baxter's fabulous Girl In Trouble!

The wonderful Rhoda Baxter has a new book out today called Girl In Trouble, and I can't wait to read it. Rhoda writes fantastic smart characters--and I mean really smart, with PhD's and stuff, as well as being quick-off-the-mark with a hot retort.

To celebrate the release, I'm going to answer one of Rhoda's blog splash prompts...

Walter thinks hydrothermal vents are beautiful, but no one else does. What is your obscure love/ guilty pleasure, and why? 

 Okay, this is quite weird so bear with me.

Displaying Girl in Trouble Final cover w quote.jpg
Girl In Trouble: http://books2read.com/u/4Doy6r
Roundabouts. I know, I don't even like driving on them, but since I was a child the flow of traffic on and off, spinning and flaring out like a Catherine wheel has always fascinated me. There's something lovely in the geometry of it.

It's the same with any beautifully designed machine. Form and function, the structural dynamics of flow, whatever. I can look at the pistons pumping on a V8 for longer than is seemly, and the other day I spent so long staring at the flow of water around a rock pool that even the dog got bored and ran away. It's probably all because of that Physics prize I won in Year Nine...

Honourable mentions must go to:

New magazine smell. New book smell is a well-known thing, but I also love the smell of a fresh magazine. I used to get more pleasure from smelling them than reading them. Also related is Petrol. The smell of the forecourt. Love it.

Raw potato. Used to drive my mum mad by nicking bits of it before she could cook it. Now I annoy myself by doing the same.

See, now hydrothermal vents seem positively normal, right?

 Girl In Trouble: book three of the Smart Girls series

Grown up tomboy Olivia doesn't need a man to complete her. Judging by her absent father, men aren't that reliable anyway. She's got a successful career, good friends and can evict spiders from the bath herself, so she doesn't need to settle down, thanks.

Walter's ex is moving his daughter to America and Walter feels like he's losing his family. When his friend-with-benefits, Olivia, discovers she's pregnant by her douchebag ex, Walter sees the perfect chance to be part of a family with a woman he loves.

But how can Walter persuade the most independent woman he's ever met to accept his help, let alone his heart?

Girl In Trouble is the third book in the award nominated Smart Girls series by Rhoda Baxter. If you like charming heroes, alpha heroines and sparkling dialogue, you'll love this series. Ideal for fans of Sarah Morgan, Lindsey Kelk or Meg Cabot's Boy books.

Buy now and meet your new favourite heroine today! http://books2read.com/u/4Doy6r

3 comments: